St. Louis Tea Party – Kiener Plaza – April 15, 2009

I have never before in my life been to a political rally.  I have never waved a flag (nice big 3′ x 5′ one) during a speech.  Not sure how many people I smacked with it.  I have never before worn a political button.  This was a day of firsts.

Let’s see if I can get some pictures loaded.

Part of Keiner Plaza’s amphitheater during the speeches.

100_1588

Another part of the amphitheater.

100_1590

Note that the stage was attached to a building way to the left.  I had my back to the building and couldn’t get a good perspective.

So I switched to the other side of the building to get the other half of the crowd (stage is on right now (where is should be of course)).

100_1595

100_1596That’s the back of Bill Hennesy (hennesysview.com) who organized this li’l get together.

My favorite poster out of some stiff competition.

100_1600

The organizers are claiming 10,000 people.  My observations:

1. Keiner Plaza is a full city block and was full.

2. When we (my subversive self and subversive sister) a half hour before the official start, we ended up on the top of an eight floor parking garage in the middle of downtown St. Louis on a Wednesday night (if there isn’t a ball game, there is nothing going on in the evening down there.  Sad but true.)

3. For an hour and a half we observed a steady flow of people coming in from all the adjoining streets.

4.  It took us an hour to get out of the parking garage.

Conclusion: I have no reason to doubt the claim.  There were a bunch of people there.

And as for the dissident radical mob ( as defined by the Dept of Homeland Security) you will never find a more jovial crew than a bunch of ‘angry’ conservatives.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

