You have no power over me

The #1 Daughter sent me an e-mail the other day.

She highlighted some lines she found interesting in a movie, Labrynth [1986].  A fairy tale.  A Jim Henson movie.  Therefore it had muppets.  Lots and lots of muppetlike goblins and creatures large and small (except for the big english sheep dog that was apparently just a big english sheep dog) all living in a mythical goblin kingdom ruled by the Goblin King – Jareth (David Bowie).  Now I’m sure Jim Henson had no intention of creating a political allegory with this.  But like all fairy tales, it had a moral.  And morals can always be bent to align with political observations.  The moral of the story was driven by the heroine, Sarah’s (Jennifer Connelly) dissatisfaction with her current mundane (or would that be muggle nowadays) life and desire for Change.

Sarah (Hmmmm.  I’ve heard that name somewhere before…), feeling greatly imposed upon because she had to babysit her baby brother while her mother and step-father went out on the town, wished that it would all go away.  Wishing in fairy tales always has consequences.  The first sign of trouble was when she went to check on her brother and found that he was gone from his crib, kidnapped by the Goblin King.  What followed was an epic adventure, Jim Henson’s vision of Dante’s descent into the nine circles of Hell, in pursuit of that which she had spurned but now desired above all else…Toby (that’s the brother).

At the climactic confrontation, Sarah is trying to wrest Toby away from Jareth.  Having once satisfied her wishes, he tries to make a subject of her.

I ask for so little. Just let me rule you, and you can have everything that you want.”

Just fear me, love me, do as I say, and I will be your slave.

Is this not the promise of the big government liberals?  Serve the government and you will be served.  This was well laid out by the Hot Air post “The Right To Everything” by Dr. Zero.  Or even paraphrasing others, you cannot have everything you want unless you give up everything you have…like Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness.  To be a well served pet is still to be a pet, living at the whim of your master.

Finally Sarah (Hmmmm.  I’ve heard that name somewhere before…) lays down Her law:

“Through dangers untold and hardships unnumbered, I have fought my way here to the castle beyond the Goblin City to take back the child that you have stolen, for my will is as strong as yours, and my kingdom is as great — You have no power over me.”

You have no power over me.

The battlecry for resistance?  You have no power over me = Don’t tread on me.

“Keep your trinkets, bankrupt welfare programs, empty promises and your hopeless change.  You have no power over me.”

Jesus could have just as easily have said it to the Romans nailing him to the cross, “Father forgive them, for they know not what they do.  They have no power over me.”

Leonidas and 300 Spartans at the Hellespont facing Xerxes and his hordes, “You have no power over us”.

It is a test of wills between those who would enslave and those who would be free.  It should be the mantra of free people: “You have no power over me.”  The modern liberal says a person cannot be free until their every need and desire is satisfied.  But is that true.  Who is freer, the person who has everything but everything is controlled by the whim of others or the person who has nothing to loose?  I have the irresistible urge to strap on a loincloth and take my shield and spear… and with that graphic let me loan you some Draino to clear out your mind’s eye, after I’m done with it.

But there it is.  To resist the mega-government, we must show that they have no power over us.  “The left has no power over us”.  Give them none.  They call opponents racist.  So.  Let them.  It only gives them power if they can create shame where none is called for.  Don’t compromise.  Compromise ALWAYS gives them more power and influence.  It’s not a pendulum.  It’s not a matter of, “Well the pendulum swings right and now it should swing left.”  The clock is shattered and the pieces strewn across the land.  I don’t want to see a pendulum, I want to hear a bell.  The call to arms has been rung.

OK, I’m going to bed now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

