National Treasure

And by that, of course, I’m actually referencing the movie of that name.

The premise of the movie is that the Founding Fathers laid out an intricate puzzle of clues all over the world leading to the discovery of a King’s Ransom on steroids.  Yeah, they probably weren’t that smart.  And even they in the 18th Century could probably have figured out that many of the structures that existed then may or may not stand long in a growing city.  Of course, the movie use Revolutionary vintage buildings because those were the ones that weren’t torn down.

So do I think there is a Great Treasure sitting under my feet.  Hardly.  If I did, I wouldn’t be writing about it to my ones of readers.  I’d be having a date with a shovel.

The Federal Empire, formerly known at the Federal government has become in frightening ways every bit the oppressive overlord that King George III was when the Founding Fathers said, “Time to move on.”  Not sure what KG III was into?  Try reading the entire Declaration of Independence.  It’s only one page long.  <cue Jeopardy music> I’ll wait </cue>  Notice any similarities?

There have been various stories about different Founding Fathers being transported to the current day to see what they had wrought.  I think it would be safe to say they would be blown away by the size and scope of the technological wonders.  Cars racing down paved roads at speeds unknown in their day except by bullets and arrows.  Buildings bigger than the pyramids.  Airplanes.  Smart phones.

But then there is the issue of what they would think of the size and power of the federal government.  Any ambiguity they may have had about the benefits vs. the cost in liberties would probably be resolved after being fondled by the government appointed sexual predators of the TSA.  Would they be shocked?  Would they be despondent?  Would they wail about how their experiment in self-government went so wrong?

I think not.  First off, the Founding Fathers were not a bunch of weak kneed whiners.  I think after the initial shock of the sexual assault, they would draw themselves up, recompose themselves, look at their hosts with some disdain in the knowledge that their hosts allowed this to come to pass in the first place and go, “So now what are you going to do?”

I don’t think they would be shocked because I think they suspect it would come to this…again.  Governments accumulate power.  That’s what they do.  Trees grow.  Birds fly.  Fish swim.  Governments become oppressive.

So now what are you going to do?

No comments yet

Leave a comment